Click Here: Committee Registration

Get on Board!

Committee Chairs

Legislative Committee
Lore Baker – Association for Individual Development (Aurora)

Standards & Best Practices
Armando Smith – Housing Forward (Cook County)
Johnna Lowe – Corporation for Supportive Housing (Chicago)

Peer Leadership
Charles Lewandowski – Resident Leader
Kristal Thompson – Resident Leader

Click Here: Committee Registration

What are the SHPA Committees?

Legislative Committee: The Legislative committee keeps its ear to the ground on state and federal issues affecting supportive housing and its stakeholders. The committee keeps the membership abreast of proposed and pending legislation, changes in current funding and policies, administrative agency policy issues and lets us know when action is needed and develops advocacy campaigns as needed. If you are an advocate or want to learn how to be an advocate this committee is for you. The committee meets by phone on the Third Thursday of the month at 10:00 am.

Advocacy Committee: SHPA’s advocacy work loops together regional leadership and strong relation ships, moving thought into action. The Advocacy committee is the action group that helps mobilize advocacy campaigns state-wide. The committee lifts up the needs related to Supportive Housing and SHPA’s ultimate goal – ensuring that every Illinoisan has a home that meets their needs in the communities they choose. SHPA is dedicated to state-wide advocacy with champions from communities across Illinois. The committee meets by phone on the Fourth Tuesday at 1:00 pm.

Standards and Best Practices Committee: The Standards and Best Practices committee is responsible for establishing best practices based on the Illinois Dimensions of Quality and other sources to help supportive housing programs meet the highest standards in the field. Committee members can study best practices in areas such as Continuum of Care, HEARTH Act, Harm Reduction, and Housing and Healthcare.  We encourage members to use these standards in their programs. The Committee also helps set the topics for the semi-annual conference, regional workshops or other trainings as needed. This is a great opportunity to learn and share practices to help your agency and agencies throughout the state strive for service excellence. The committee meets on the fourth Monday of each month at 11:30 a.m.

Peer Leadership:  The Peer Leadership Committee consists of residents from the membership and direct service staff who work on issues related to advocacy, leadership development, and civic engagement. We discuss the various campaigns and projects within the Peer Leadership Development Program, how Residents can support the legislative work of SHPA, and peer to peer communication about what is happening in the various communities around the state. The committee meets on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 4:00 p.m.